## **SELECTMEN'S MEETING – May 21, 2018**

Present: John Strasser, Margo Connors

Jennifer Gaudette

Guests: Rebecca Brown - ACT

Correspondence was read and acted upon.

The board will not meet on Monday May 28th in observance of the Memorial Day Holiday.

The board will host Franconia and Easton Select Boards on June 4<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 pm to discuss the Tri Town Transfer Station agreement and recent changes.

Jennifer updated the board on area towns and how they fund the Emergency Management Director position. There are a wide range of options with some towns not budgeting at all and some including up to \$2,000 in the budget line. Area communities with full time fire or police chiefs often include the position within those jobs.

The board discussed the information from NHMA in regard to legislation pending on Town Meeting changes.

The board reviewed the job evaluations.

REBECCA BROWN met with the board on behalf of ACT. She distributed the Cooley-Jericho Community Forest Memorandum of Understanding for the Towns of Easton, Franconia, Landaff and Sugar Hill. The board needs to replace Justin Kline as a representative to the CJCF Stewardship Team. Rebecca discussed the use of the town forest and noted that currently it is used more by hikers than bikers. Rebecca felt that having the parking area had increased the use of the forest. ACT is currently looking at adjacent properties to the forest for possible purchase.

The Select Board is in full support of the restoration efforts for the St. Matthews Chapel. The Chapel is now listed in the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places and the board feels strongly that it is a historically relevant building in the community of Sugar Hill.

MR. STRASSER made a motion to approve the minutes of May 14, 2018 meeting seconded by MS. CONNORS. The motion passed unanimously.

With no more business before the Board, MS. CONNORS made a motion to adjourn; seconded by MR. STRASSER the meeting was adjourned at 6:50 PM. The next regular scheduled meeting will be on Monday June 4, 2018, at the Carolina Crapo Building.

Respectfully submitted

Jennifer P. Gaudette Administrative Assistant